Movie Reviews: Straight Outta Compton


(R) 147 minutes. Biography, crime, drama. « The group N.W.A. emerges from the mean streets of Compton, in Los Angeles, California, in the mid 1980’s, and revolutionizes hip-hop culture with their music and tales about life in the hood. »-source: m.imdb.com20150620_21433920140311_21252720140404_124610Years ago, I was really excited to hear that there was going to be a movie about the very controversial rap supergroup N.W.A. After some years had passed, I was like, well, damn! When is the movie going to drop? It’s definitely going to be a hit! Fast forward to damn near ten years later since I first heard the gossip:  The movie was almost done! Then, It was going to come out, soon! Yay!

I was soooooooooooooo beyond excited! However, I thought that it was sad concerning the obstacles that the members of N.W.A. went through to get this movie done. I mean, what the fuck? It should have been no question concerning giving Ice Cube/whoever the 29 million dollars that was needed to make this film. Hell, it would have been cool if this film lasted three or more hours! Well, you wanna know how it went(the movie)? I’ll tell ya. I watched this movie three times, took my mother, my grandmother, and my little sister to watch the film.

And, I’m going to watch it, again until I cannot watch it anymore! This movie was great from start to finish! I mean excellent! I especially liked how the movie began with Eazy E(Eric Wright). Man, that was the shit! And, there were a lot of highlights in the movie. One of my favorite parts in the movie was when Eazy E. and Jerry Heller are sitting down eating lobster and drinking champagne while Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, M.C. Ren, and D.J. Yella are eating Fatburgers.

Ice Cube(played by Oshea Jackson, jr.)comes down to talk to Eazy E. and says, « I must be trippin. »

Mind you, there is a whole lot going on for Ice Cube to be saying this. You guys are going to have to see the movie to find out why. There are some parts of the movie that I found to be hilarious as well. Another example is when Jerry and Shuge Knight are « mean mugging » one another at different events. Another example is when this one guy is looking for his girlfriend named Felicia at N.W.A.’s hotel room. D.J. Yella tries to help find Felicia while screwing this one chick.

He starts asking the chick if her name is Felicia. The lady gets pissed because Yella couldn’t remember her name. As a result, she moves from underneath Yella and ceases the fuck session. Felicia is eventually found…….with Eazy E. in her mouth. The shit was on from there and that bitch ended up getting kicked the fuck out of N.W.A.’s hotel room. I didn’t feel sorry for the character named Felicia, either, because she should not have been cheating on her boyfriend in the first place. Also, I liked the part when N.W.A. and Ice Cube went back and forth recording songs about one another.

That was tight. Shuge really fucked some shit up! Damn! He reminded me of a black Bluto: always kicking someone’s ass. There are just too many good parts in this movie! Even the part where the guys(members of the group N.W.A.)think that Jerry Heller looked like « Mr. Furley »(played by two different guys, which included Don Knotts) from the comedy show Three’s Company. And, I also liked the part when Snoop Dogg was first introduced to Shuge Knight in the recording studio(where Dr. Dre was working one day).

However, the part of the film that I dreaded the most was when Eazy E. got nearly beat to death by Shuge Knight and his henchmen, when Eazy E. got sick, and when he then eventually died. That was a real tear jerker. I really hate that Eazy E. died, period. Damn. To add, I was a little disappointed that more wasn’t told about how Eazy E. discovered Bone Thugs N’ Harmony and more details surrounding how they got their recording project done, how they were affected by the loss of Eazy, and stuff.

In addition, it would have been interesting to show more details about M.C. Ren’s and D.J. Yella’s lives as well. it was all good though. Watching Straight Outta Compton took me down memory lane in more ways than one: from my scant knowledge when certain gangs occupied certain areas of L.A. while living in Los Angeles as a kid, down to the music score of this gripping film.

I was partially raised in Los Angeles. My baby sister was born in Compton, California. I also lived in some horrible areas of L.A. and a good area in Santa Monica, California. My grandmother and two of my uncles lived on Crenshaw Boulevard for years. One of my twin uncles attended the same high school as Darryl Strawberry. They(my grandmother and two uncles) also lived close to the Crenshaw Baldwin Hills Mall. And, I loved shopping there when I was in the area. However, my favorite malls are the Fox Hills Mall and The Beverly Center(mall in Beverly Hills, CA, I think).

But, Fox Hills Mall is my absolute favorite. Crenshaw Baldwin Hills Mall is cool, but is really too expensive for my taste. Yeah, those gangs back in the early 1980’s started working on occupying/living in some of the areas that my family and I resided in. The gangs started passing through at first(the neighborhoods that we lived in). Gang banger children walked through the neighborhoods in packs terrorizing kids at times, fucking up some of our double dutch sessions, forcing other children to join their gangs, and then participated in nasty activities.

Some of the scariest times for me was when my mother had no fucking sense at all. She would send me by myself to the candy store to purchase her favorite kind of candy bar. It was a Payday candy bar. Older female kids taunted me and I also got robbed a couple of times by a teenaged bully and gangbanger. It did not help when my mom confronted the boy’s gang banger family, either. It made things worse for me. As the gangs began settling into our neighborhoods, we elementary children had to stop selling candy bars for our school fundraisers, and a whole lot more.

Then, a kid at my school got kidnapped right on the playground. Well, enough of that shit. Moving right along, I really did enjoy the music that was played in the movie. I remember a lot of the songs, too. Both of my parents had an extensive record collection. Their collections ranged from musicians such as: Roy Ayers, Barry White, Peaches N’ Herb, Chaka Khan and Rufus, George Benson, Herbie Hancock, all the way down to Hall and Oates, Chick Corea, Chuck Mangione, Herb Alpert, and The Average White Band.

Yep! They(both of my parents)had records upon records, upon records. I mean sooooooooo many records. Next, during the movie I had no choice but to jam to the song « More Bounce », by Roger and Zapp. Almost every member of the « jeri curl family » on 79th Street blasted that song in our neighborhood. The song « Cutie Pie », too. All in all, I give this film an A++++++++++! It had action from the beginning of the movie right down to the end!

It was a memorable film like Boyz In Da Hood, but better!, had drama like a soap opera, and was a tear jerker like Boyz In Da Hood, too. I am going to have to have both of these films in my new movie collection. They will be sitting side by side in my new collection. Also, I did have Boyz In Da Hood on VHS. Time to get it, again! This time on DVD. I will get Straight Outta Compton on DVD, too. To continue, this is the most inspiring movie of the year to me. Five young men got together and got the fuck out of the fucking ghetto!

All five were geniuses and visionaries in their own right/way. They got tired of struggling, they got together, and they made it! Shit, this film made me want to get up out of my funk and get my shit together! I’m having some fucked up times myself! To continue, although these five young men of N.W.A. had their ups and downs, clashes with one another, and shit like that, they made history. They broke barriers musically, socially, racially, and politically! At the same time, they didn’t fake the funk. They remained themselves.

All I can say is « wow » to Dr. Dre. He truly IS a « big man ». A grand businessman  in his own right as a young man! Hopefully he finally got the piece of mind that he wanted. He sure deserves it. It seemed like Dre was being pulled like taffy, snatched in two directions. Both Eazy E. and Shuge Knight saw something special in Dr. Dre. And, neither man budged. Yes, it is easy to assume that they saw dollar bills, too. Can you blame either man for knowing what an asset Dr. Dre was(and is)? Eazy E. was a lot and a whole lot more:    A very smart and savvy businessman. On top of that, he was a visionary.

Ice Cube is very intelligent, but was highly underestimated when it came to exactly how intelligent he truly was and how talented he was(and is). From watching this film and interviews of the past and present of the members of N.W.A., it looks like Hollywood and the world knew what mega talents all of the members of N.W.A. were and are. Look at them now! May Eric « Eazy E. » Wright rest in peace. It is too bad that he is not here to enjoy another N.W.A. groundbreaking and historical event:  Making #1 in the box office with the movie Straight Outta Compton!

See it! Hear it! Believe it! And, enjoy it! Now playing in select theaters across the world!

 

 

Cast and Crew:

Jason Mitchell: Eazy E.

O’Shea Jackson, Jr.: Ice Cube

Corey Hawkins: Dr. Dre

Neil Brown, Jr.: D.J. Yella

Aldis Hodge: M.C. Ren

Marlon Yates, Jr.: D.O.C.

R. Marcos Taylor: Suge Knight

Carra Patterson: Tomica

Alexander Shipp: Kim

Paul Giamatti: Jerry Heller

Elena Goode: Nicole

Keith Powers: Tyree

Joshua Brockington: Young Warren

Sheldon A. Smith: Warren G.

Keith Stanfield: Snoop

 

 

Director: F. Gary Gray

Writers: Jonathan Herman(screenplay)

Andrea Berloff: (screenplay)

S. Leigh Savage: story

Alan Leunkus: story

Andrea Berloff: story

 

 

7 réflexions sur “Movie Reviews: Straight Outta Compton

Laisser un commentaire

