The Revolution Concert


20170614_163333The Revolution concert was an unforgettable experience! June 15th, 2017 was a very busy day for me. It seemed like I had so much to do and prepare for, so that I could see The Revolution in concert.

There were several concerts that I wanted to prepare for and go to. But, it just did not work out as I hoped. I wanted to see El Debarge, Whodini, SWV, BBD, En Vogue, Jon B., Tears for Fears, Darryl Hall & John Oates, and a whole lot more!

Bummer! Anyway, I did the best that I could. But,  I got to see The Revolution! I was able to go and see them! What to wear? Well, the best thing for me to wear was my Purple Rain Prince inspired outfit.

There was only one problem though:

 

It was hot as hell outside! I did not want to be late for the concert. As a result, I decided to get ready early. So, I did everything that I needed to do, put on my outfit, and completed the finishing touches with a purple wig.

I got dropped off at the bus station, waited for the bus, and braved the hot ass weather. On my way to the Dallas House of Blues, I decided to take a few snapshots along the way.

On my way there, I saw a few people who were decked out in purple attire. Once I spotted the right bus to take me to the Dallas House of Blues, I got on it and got dropped off close to a block away from it. Then, I sat down for a little while, because I did not want to be too early for the concert.

Apparently, it did not matter. Because, there was already a long line of fans waiting to get in! A little short fellow informed me to go ahead and get in line, because the line was most likely long.

So, I went ahead and got up. And, yes, it was jam packed! Once I got in line, I started hoping that there were other Prince fans there, who wore Prince inspired outfits(besides myself). You know, there really are « die hard » Prince fans out here in this universe!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂  Unfortunately, it was disappointing to see that out of thousands of fans, there were only two of us who wore Prince inspired outfits! Two! Only two! Yet, it was so crowded that there were two lines!

Two lines! Wow! Although I melted like an ice cream cone, I made it. And, I finally made it inside of the Dallas House of Blues! It was pretty cool looking inside of the Dallas House of Blues.

The stage area where it was « standing room only », reminded me of a gigantic dance floor. I enjoyed the 1980’s music that played before The Revolution came on the stage. Next, I decided to walk around and explore the place a little bit.

There was a cool ass purple light-up looking gate entrance. It was made of two purple neon light-up poles, with a chain between the light-up poles. It was remarkably beautiful!

Aaaaannnnd….I got a few snapshots in! Further, I walked around a little more and spoke with a number of passersby. Some of them were curious, entertained, and so on while gawking at me wearing my outfit.

Next, I decided to stand beside one of the bar areas and speak with more curious onlookers, until the concert began. Next, a friendly gentleman purchased me a drink of my choice. Since a few people were raving about a Prince inspired drink dubbed « Purple Rain », I decided to choose that drink.

Ewwwwwwwww!!!….Shit! It was filthy! It tasted like a concoction made of cough syrup and mouthwash! And, it was not that sweet! It was just way too much liquor in that drink! It was then that I realized that there sure are a lot of people who are into drinking hard liquor.

I am not one of those people. In fact, I was very disappointed that a place like the Dallas House of Blues does not make drinks such as: strawberry daquiris and margueritas.

Another fact: the club that I went to see Cece Peniston and Taylor Dayne did not serve frozen drinks, either(Club S4)! Anywho, it was time for the concert to begin! It was soooooooooooooooooooo exciting! 🙂 🙂 🙂

I always wanted to see Prince and The Revolution perform together. However, that was not to be. Although it did not work out that way, I was fortunate to see Prince in 2005 and The Revolution this year. The band played a slew of memorable songs. Some of the songs were performed by Stokely Williams.

Some were sung by Mark Brown. And, some were performed by Wendy Melvoin. Totally excellent! In between performances, I met a Prince lookalike! This lookalike dressed like Prince during the time period before Prince passed away. People took pictures of the guy. The picture that I took was of the back of his new age afrocentric afro coiffed head. That photo was not very clear, because it was very dark once the lights were off in some areas.

Next, it was too late when I realized that I should have yelled out for The Revolution to play « Pop Life ». By then, the concert was over and my senses were filled by that filthy ass Purple Rain drink. Damn!! Damn, damn, damn!!! « Darling Nicky », « Pop Life », and « The Beautiful Ones » would have totally completed the concert. One thing that I did remember though:

 

 

I did not hear « The Lord’s Prayer » recited during the performing of the song « Controversy ». I thought that was weird. Furthermore, I love the song « Controversy », too!  To this very day, I think that the song itself is still controversial, and makes total sense!

Prince Rogers Nelson knew just what the fuck he was doing when he wrote that song. I don’t know why, but I always got it twisted about who was Wendy and who was Lisa!

There were people screaming, « Wendy, I love you! »

This was so touching to hear! This concert was definitely « a concert to remember ». Wow! After it was over, there was a booth where people could buy merchandise. I wanted to, but could not.

So, I snapped a few more photos before I left, and took the bus and train as close to home as I could, before finally getting picked up to go home. So, there it is, folks! : an experience like no other! : a performance from part of « The Purple One’s Family »!

Approximately 48 hours later, I really started to pay attention to who was Wendy and who was Lisa. Wendy Melvoin is the guitarist!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 And, Lisa Coleman is the keyboard player!! O.K. In my opinion, Wendy looks like her name should be Lisa. And, Lisa looks like her name should be Wendy!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 O.K.! Wow!

Une réflexion sur “The Revolution Concert

Laisser un commentaire

